Satellite Winner Denis Karakashi Crowned Inaugural Gioco Digitale WPT National San Remo Champion

The inaugural Gioco Digitale WPT National San Remo kicked off last week, attracting professional and casual players from all over Europe to fight for the WPT National title. A total of 354 entries took to the tables for the Main Event, generating a total prize pool of €309,042. Denis Karakashi battled his way through the field to take home €70,000 and the coveted crystal WPT National trophy.

Karakashi travelled to San Remo with a friend and didn’t intend to play the event, but won a seat in the last satellite the day before the Main Event. Karakashi entered the final table with 70 percent of the chips in play, and reached heads-up play against Antonio Rutigliano with a six-to-one advantage.

Winning Hand

Heads-up play began with Denis Karakashi leading by about 9 million to 1.5 million. On the final hand, Rutigliano was all in and at risk with A3 off suit against the A9 of diamonds of Karakashi. Rutigliano failed to catch up, and Karakashi was crowned the champion.

Winners Shot

 Final Table Standings

Place Player Prize
1st Denis Karakashi € 70,000
2nd Antonio Rutigliano € 45,000
3rd Dario Ciravegna € 29,000
4th Francesco De Vivo € 21,000
5th Alexandre Le Vaillant € 16,000
6th Cataldo Valletta € 12,450
7th Simone Giampaolo € 10,000
8th Gregory Grech € 8,000
9th Samir Bouchakour € 6,200


Notable players included Italian football journalist Riccardo Trevisani, French professional poker players Paul Testud and Alain Roy, 2010 EPT Copenhagen runner-up Francesco De Vivo, and Tilt Events Pros Kara Scott and Giovanni Rizzo.

WPT Blog

Be Sociable, Share!

usa poker svenska poker finland poker Deutsch poker spain poker italy poker france poker japan poker greece poker china poker brazil poker denemark poker netherlands poker india poker russia poker korea poker turkey poker
romanian poker bulgarian poker croatian poker czech poker israel   poker norway poker poland poker serbia poker slovakia poker slovenia poker